<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><!-- generator="WordPress/2.7" -->
<rss version="0.92">
<channel>
	<title>Malware Diaries</title>
	<link>http://blogs.paretologic.com/malwarediaries</link>
	<description>Malware Diaries, a blog about the job of a security researcher</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Fri, 03 Jul 2009 23:26:21 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<docs>http://backend.userland.com/rss092</docs>
	<language>en</language>
	
	<item>
		<title>&#8216;Wake on Lan&#8217; site hosts malware</title>
		<description>Until today I did not know what wake on Lan was.  That is until I came upon a site called "reveilpc.com" that I found out.

It's an interesting feature that lets you remotely turn a computer on by sending 'magic packets' (I'm not making this up! lol).

Well, the site first got ...</description>
		<link>http://blogs.paretologic.com/malwarediaries/index.php/2009/07/03/wake-on-lan-site-hosts-malware/</link>
			</item>
	<item>
		<title>Follow me on Twitter</title>
		<description>If you don't already know it, I am on Twitter. Get the latest security updates on there!



Jerome Segura </description>
		<link>http://blogs.paretologic.com/malwarediaries/index.php/2009/07/03/follow-me-on-twitter/</link>
			</item>
	<item>
		<title>New Koobface variant</title>
		<description>Caught this one in our Honeypots:

It's a Koobface Worm variant and not really detected as of yet:



We proactively detect it with our Heuristic engine:



Jerome Segura

Malware ID: cd83349f99c282256ae428e6a4a3ae92.zip </description>
		<link>http://blogs.paretologic.com/malwarediaries/index.php/2009/07/03/new-koobface-variant/</link>
			</item>
	<item>
		<title>Malware repo gets updated</title>
		<description>This is an update from my previous post. I noticed an update to one of the pages on the malicious site

oymoma-tube.freehostia.com

Check the screen below and see the July 3rd time stamp:



The page hot-tube.htm is now pushing a rogue, namely XP Deluxe Protector, disguised as a free codec:



Upon execution, fake alert ...</description>
		<link>http://blogs.paretologic.com/malwarediaries/index.php/2009/07/03/malware-repo-gets-updated/</link>
			</item>
	<item>
		<title>Unsanitized repo of fake codecs</title>
		<description>Sometimes spending the extra work hours pays off. Actually I kind of get into a groove after searching and things come easily... that is until my wife phones me up!

Anyway, I was investigating a site and checked its source code for anything of interest.

There was a strange link pointing to ...</description>
		<link>http://blogs.paretologic.com/malwarediaries/index.php/2009/07/02/unsanitized-repo-of-fake-codecs/</link>
			</item>
	<item>
		<title>New Jahlav Mac Trojan variant</title>
		<description>Our HoneyPots found a new variant of the Jahlav Trojan, targeting Mac OS X:



The "dmg" file is hosted on yescrome.com:



So far, only Sophos detects this piece of malware.

Edit: I meant to say that only Sophos detects this sample out of all the AV vendors on Virus Total.

I have been informed ...</description>
		<link>http://blogs.paretologic.com/malwarediaries/index.php/2009/07/02/new-jahlav-mac-trojan-variant/</link>
			</item>
	<item>
		<title>Happy Canada Day!</title>
		<description>Tomorrow is Canada Day. It is our national holiday.

It was 8 years ago that I first came to Canada for a visit to Halifax, N.S. That's at the same time I met my future wife.

Years have passed and I am still loving this country.



Jerome Segura </description>
		<link>http://blogs.paretologic.com/malwarediaries/index.php/2009/06/30/happy-canada-day/</link>
			</item>
	<item>
		<title>New ad-clicker Trojan</title>
		<description>Our Honeypots caught this drive-by download from the following site:



Looks like another blog... the word 'porn' is used, well, abundantly.

The site is registered to some guy in Panama.



Other domains sharing nameserver:



They all point to this fake codec site:



The malware file, as with many fake codecs is from exe-xxx-file.com.

A quick Virus ...</description>
		<link>http://blogs.paretologic.com/malwarediaries/index.php/2009/06/30/new-ad-clicker-trojan/</link>
			</item>
	<item>
		<title>Michael Jackson malware in Italian</title>
		<description>As rumors run crazy about Michael Jackson's death, one thing is for certain: malware authors are rejoicing.

This one is from an old friend (so to speak). Do you remember youtorube? Well, it is the same IP striking again:





Jerome Segura

Malware ID: 33956a21473022daf214311deb131135.zip </description>
		<link>http://blogs.paretologic.com/malwarediaries/index.php/2009/06/30/michael-jackson-malware-in-italian/</link>
			</item>
	<item>
		<title>Fake Celebrities site drops malware</title>
		<description>Thise site popped up on my radar... The fake Flash Player is malware, of course.





I was very surprised to see that only 3 AV vendors detect this threat!



Jerome Segura

Malware ID: 260f8513934016b9eafb6e9edf650c01.zip </description>
		<link>http://blogs.paretologic.com/malwarediaries/index.php/2009/06/29/fake-celebrities-site-drops-malware/</link>
			</item>
</channel>
</rss>
