Beware of Twitter’s Followers frenzy
There are several sites enticing Twitter users to give them their username and password (yes password) in order to get more followers.
This site thousandfollowers.com looks a tad suspicious:
you need to give your full credentials and the “I agree with the Terms of Service” is pre-checked!
Watch what happens:
Yes, looks like spam doesn’t it? Posting messages without my consent!
Better change my password!
The site’s IP is located in the Netherlands and the Whois rather obscure:
Domain name: thousandfollowers.com
Registrant Contact:
WhoisGuard
WhoisGuard Protected ()
Wonder why? Do You?
The site also asks you to ‘buy’ VIP which it states will get you “followed when users login to our site”.
Let me explain the scam in clear text:
I really want new followers badly and give out my personal information like thousands of other naive people. If I buy the VIP pass all those thousands of naive people will follow me. Guess how? Because their account is owned!
How many people fall for the scam? LOTS!!!
Jerome Segura
-
by
-
by
Comments:
|
|









